About Our Event

34th annual National Awards Dinner 
Saturday, September 7, 2019 at Fasig-Tipton in Lexington, Ky.

The National Awards Dinner honors owners and breeders from 22 states and Canada. Also recognized are the National Owner of the Year and National Owner Finalists, National Breeder of the Year, Small Breeder of the Year, Broodmare of the Year, Racing Partnership of the Year, Rood & Riddle Sport Horse of the Year, Industry Service Award, Claiming Crown Horse of the Year and recipient of the Robert N. Clay Award. 

The Racing Partnership of the Year award is new and was created to recognize the growing impact partnerships and syndicates have on Thoroughbred ownership.

Award Nominees

Congratulations to our 2019 Nominees!

Finalists for Owners of the Year: Winner announced live

Peter M. Brant
Hronis Racing
Rockingham Ranch
Juddmonte Farms
Klaravich Stable

State Breeders of the Year: Winner announced live

Arkansas: Billy & Mary McDowell
California: Premier Thoroughbreds
Canada: Cam Ziprick & Arnason Farms
Florida: Ocala Stud
Indiana: Michael & Penny Lauer
Iowa: Allen Poindexter
Kansas: Jerry Johnson
Kentucky: Godolphin
Louisiana: Bill & Al Ulwelling
Maryland: Richard Golden
Massachusetts: George Brown (posthumously)
Minnesota: Joel and Kris Zamzow
New Jersey: Sam Fieramosca
New Mexico: R.D. Hubbard
New York: Chester & Mary Broman
North Carolina: Dr. Frank Batten
Ohio: Steve DeMaiolo
Oregon: Paul Hagemann
Pennsylvania: Elizabeth Moran; Thomas & Lori Fackler
South Carolina: Franklin G. Smith, Sr.
Texas: W.S. Farish
Virginia: William M. Backer (trust) Smitten Farm
Washington: Delores Christianson

Broodmare of the Year
Stage Magic

Racing Partnership
WinStar Farm
China Horse Club
Head of Planes Partners
Starlight Racing

Robert N. Clay Award
Wayne and Susie Chatfield-Taylor


Claiming Crown
Aztec Sense

Loading Preview...